Fogarty Creek Beach perch fishing

R
RustyShackleford
After wrenching my knee poke poling the Newport jetty yesterday had to change my plan and tried perch fishing. Went to Fogarty Creek State park about an hour before high tide. I used shrimp and Gulp! Camo sandworms. Caught 4 in an hour but they were on the small side so I released them. Gonna try again when the surf is a little lighter.

Last edited by a moderator:
rogerdodger
rogerdodger
excellent, what is the trick to catching larger ones? is it just fish more or change locations?

R
RustyShackleford
I'm a novice when it comes to sea perch so I dont know the trick to finding the bigger ones. I read that they run bigger in the summer.

rogerdodger
rogerdodger
cool, I have not fished for them yet but I hear they are good eats.

PK Yi
PK Yi
awesome! good to hear that they are in there. tried fogarty 3 times, skunked 3 times. I'd have to try that again now that I know they're in there.

C_Run
C_Run
Nice report, thanks. I have eyeballed Fogarty Cr. before but never fished it. We just finished our last surf perch from last summer yesterday so it's time to go again. I have heard people say that certain locations have bigger perch but that might be due to pressure , too, I don't know.

EOBOY
EOBOY
C_Run said:
Nice report, thanks. I have eyeballed Fogarty Cr. before but never fished it. We just finished our last surf perch from last summer yesterday so it's time to go again. I have heard people say that certain locations have bigger perch but that might be due to pressure , too, I don't know.

Next week or so I'm going to go to Manhattan Beach I've always had good luck just to the South of the Nahalem jetty. Big one's there,but it may be a little early yet.

EOBOY

bass
bass