Looking for drifting buddies

J
JonT
So I have a wood drift boat, but I'm pretty new to Hood River and am willing to fish with anyone any time. I need some drifting help (as I've never drifted alone). And you want to get out on a river, so hit me up. peace

O
OnTheDrop
If you are willing to travel into the Valley I will ride with you and show you some tips.

J
JonT
Cool, where?

O
OnTheDrop
Anywhere from the Sandy/Clack, the coast, and down towards the Eugene area. I've floated most of the rivers. A good start might be the Clackamas as it's an easy and comfortable float unless you go to the upper stretch.

Are you a steelhead fisherman?

P
pez75
I have never caught any steelhead and would love to get into some if yourwilling to take a newbie.

J
JonT
SteelmonKiller20 said:
Anywhere from the Sandy/Clack, the coast, and down towards the Eugene area. I've floated most of the rivers. A good start might be the Clackamas as it's an easy and comfortable float unless you go to the upper stretch.

Are you a steelhead fisherman?

The Clackamas sounds like a good start, according to many...

Am I a steelhead fisherman... Well, I lived in Pensacola, FL for 27 years and guided light-heavy fly fishing there for 7 years. Then my life took me briefly to NW Arkansas, where I learned the ins and outs of trout, to an extent. Then I spent 5 years in Austin, TX throwing big frog and shad patterns at black bass. My fianceè, who I met in Austin, is a Duck and has family in Oregon (Newport) and fellow Duck friends in Hood River. We visited last spring, and decided this is the place for us. The universe has sort of been in agreement, it seems. I've landed cobia over 60 lbs. with a 10 wt. in Florida and smoker king mackerel from the beach, but have yet to get into two-handed rods. Soon.

I arrived on February 1. I've been researching steelhead a lot. I haven't been fishing much, and I haven't caught one yet, but I am on the path to becoming a steelhead fisherman, you could say.

J
JonT