Any luck on the Willamette in the Eugene/ Springfield area?

R
Reel Technician
Just curious if anyone is having any luck yet in the area. I know they are here:)

T
taconight2night
I'm not an expert, but judging by the count of summer steelhead over Willamette Falls, there should only be a few hundred fish that could potentially be in our area right now. Not sure if that is enough fish to have much of a shot at them, but I could be wrong. I think I'll wait until there are at least 2000 or so over the falls before I put too much energy into it... good luck out there!

D
DrTheopolis
Not too much going on in the Lower Willy tribs yet, so I'm guessing (and I do mean "guessing") that there isn't much going on above the Falls yet.

C_Run
C_Run
I saw guys plunking in the Santiam two weeks ago when I was passing on the freeway. I guess they were pretty optimistic.

I
Iki Jime
I was practicing my drift fishing technique with a trout rod when my friend hooked into one that he thought was about 6 lbs. That was just below the Dexter dam on the Middle Fork. It was bright chrome and cleared water several times before snapping his leader off.

We were out there for a couple of hours, catching planters until he hooked that one. It's the only one that I heard about yesterday.

jamisonace
jamisonace
People are catching a few in the combat zone. Not enough in the river for me to bother. I won't fish at Dexter.

R
Reel Technician
Thanks for all the input! I dont really like to combat fish there at dexter dam. But I do keep finding my self ending my spot hopping up the middle fork until I get to the dam. I talked to another local and he's seen a handful pulled out at the dam in the last week. I hope to see some willamette chrome pics soon on here. Again, thanks for all the advice. Tight lines!:thumb:

C
coyo7e