McKenzie tips for a someone new to fly fishing?

O
OregonApe
So I've been living in Eugene and Springfield for the last few years but really haven't fished much since I was a kid. Anyway, I've had some health issues over the last year and it does my mental state some good to get out of the house. I have a local buddy who wants to get back into fly fishing but doesn't know the area at all. I'm completely new to fly fishing and also don't know the area. I am currently in Springfield basically a mile north of the middle fork and a mile south of the McKenzie. I picked up a combo from Caddis last week and am waiting on my waders to be delivered tomorrow. I would have signed up for the August class from Caddis but we expect to be out on the water sooner than their next class.

Anyway, anyone have any tips for good spots to wade from or seasonally appropriate flies? Floating or sink tip this time of year? Really I'm just hoping to not end up swimming. Not that the local rivers are that bad in terms of temperature or flow. I've been on a couple of Kenai sockeye trips and that's a river you don't want to end up swimming in.

I was doing some spoon fishing from the ramp at harvest landing a couple weeks ago and it looked like there was decent top water feeding upriver if I were to wade up there. I have also fished from the ramp at Hayden Bridge but that looked much to deep to wade from which is a shame as they were going nuts just upriver from the ramp. I drove over the Hendricks Bridge park yesterday morning to take a look and saw some guys out there but no one looked to be having much success. My buddy heard about Finn Rock from somewhere and was curious about that area. Are some stretches of the McKenzie better than others?

troutdude
troutdude
Welcome to OFF. I'll defer to the fly fishing crowd to answer your questions. But do note that at least some stretches, as I recall, require barbless flies/hooks. As well as catch and release.

Good luck and let us know how you do.