Wilson steelhead and salmon runs

P
pajohnson1988
Hi all,

I am new to Oregon but am an avid Minnesota fisherman. I have been out on the Wilson plenty of times with no luck. Any tips for fly fishing the Wilson river? I don't see many steelhead in there right now and am wondering when the prime runs are.

Any other advice is appreciated.

Thanks

D
DrTheopolis
This evening is rife with questions I know the answers to -- I should buy a lottery ticket.

I've fished the Wils once recently, my buddy goes all the time. First, you've really got to put some effort and patience into seeing steelhead -- they're not fond of being seen. Next, the Wilson summer run seems pretty dismal this year. There's always a few, but doesn't seem like much of a run this year, and the Wilson is a tough nut to crack for summers in a good year. Combine that with the river drying up quite early this year, and that's some tough fishing. Of all the streams I've fished for summers, the Wilson is the toughest. The first hour or two of daylight OFFers a much better chance. It's much touchier about light on the water than most streams.

And we went through this recently, and I'm sure it OFFended a few people, but I'll say it -- learning to steelhead fish with a flyrod is like learning to knit with two baseball bats.

P
pajohnson1988
Thanks for the advice. Do you have any suggestions on when to fish it? When are the prime runs for steelhead or salmon?

Are there other rivers near hillsboro that have good bank access and better steelhead numbers?

D
DrTheopolis
Summer runs should be peaking about now (or starting to wind down, but they don't go anywhere, they just lay low). Spring/summer Chinook on the small coast streams can be a tough gig. When the rivers rise sharply in fall (which we never know exactly when that will be), those coastal streams are like fishing in a barrel for Chinook. Before that, they'll be in tidewater, but there's not always a lot of bank access to tidewater.