Steelhead questions from a beginner wanting to respect the fish and

M
MonsterRiverBass.com
I am looking to gain some knowledge on Steelhead. If you know an answer to one of the following questions below I would appreciate any help your willing to give.

I am new to Steelhead fishing- already have the gear part covered so I want to know the following:

Can I fish for them all season? I know Winter Steelhead is popular what is the time frame on this?

What are a few good spots that are not crowded?

Of coarse, I will admit I would love a photo with a nice fish If I catch it. How can I handle the fish properly to ensure it stays healthy after release?

Native Steelhead still have Adipose Fin- Others are clipped?

I hear folks keep them to eat- what is legal? Do I really need to whack it on the head?

Thats it for now. If you have an answer please put my original question in Bold and an answer below. Thanks again.

O
OnTheDrop
Sup Buddy,

Can I fish for them all season? I know Winter Steelhead is popular what is the time frame on this?

You can pretty much catch a steelhead any day of the year here in Oregon. Winter peak times are Dec-Feb/March. Some systems get early ones in November and often times the big native ones arrive in rivers later in the season. Feb- beginning of April are my favorite times for the big guys. Though you can get one any day of the season.

Summers will start to trickle in systems in March/April and peak anywhere from there to June/July. Though right now you could still encounter a chrome one ( Especially in the lower Clack ) Even the ones that come in earlier in the season can still be caught. Unlike the winters who come in and spawn ( or head back out to ocean ) summers don't spawn 'til the following year. I've ran into summers during a day of catching winters in December.

What are a few good spots that are not crowded?
Now, that's a tough question...lol