Newb to steels...

MrGrumpFish
MrGrumpFish
Hey,

I am new to fishing steelhead and would like to know if there are any fish in the Wilson to be caught at this time? I heard from a guy salmon fishing a couple weeks ago there were still a bunch of fish held up in holes there. My concern is with the recent rains and river levels coming up a bit, are these fish still around?

Cheers,

Chris

S
sapo
Hmm..

Contrary to your post, we haven't had any rains recently that have been big enough to raise river levels significantly at all. In fact, the last decent rain we had was almost two weeks ago, and most areas received less than half an inch of rain. That rain barely affected river levels, and the rivers are back down to super low now, since we haven't had any rain after that. May not be optimal for steelhead fishing.

The Wilson is really low right now and the temperature is probably above average, both of which are typically poor conditions for steelhead fishing. The main, big run on the Wilson is the winter steelhead run. However the summer steelhead run on the Wilson is also pretty strong and there are definitely still fish around in the system, I've heard of people catching them into October.

So, to finally answer your question LOL..Yes, there are definitely still fish in the river and there will probably be decent fishing for about a month. The water levels and temperature aren't optimal but there aren't too many guys on the river right now and you'll definitely be able to find fish in the river. I would target them with smaller spoons or spinners, or maybe bobber and roe. Be careful about your presentation and downsize with the lower water.

-sapo

Reactions: pinstriper
troutdude
troutdude
Aw nuts. Sapo I tried to give you some cred (rep points), but can't for now. But that's one of the best posts ever, IMO. Well thought out; clear; conscise; and helpful. Well done! :thumb:

P
pinstriper
troutdude said: