New to Clackamas please help

R
radke15
Hi everyone, i've just recently registered and was wondering if you could help answer a few questions and give any advice if possible. I'm a college student in portland and love to fly fish since i was 10. I brought up my gear and want to try my first steelhead trip. I've set up a plan to take the bus ride from portland to barton park on the clackamas to try my luck this upcoming saturday morning. Just wondering any tips or advice on my best chance to hook one of these monsters. I'm used to fly fishing the madison in montana so this will be quite a change but i'll be ready. I'll be using a 6 weight 9ft. fly rod with reel floating line and leader. I'm guessing nymphs but you tell me. I'll make sure to make an update after my trip this upcoming weekend. wish me luck. any tips on what to look for and how to adjust in this area is much appreciated. I will be wading, and camp overnight the friday before.

K
Kevinb5688
Hopefully its not blown out. I know the alsea and siuslaw are supposed to be blown out by thursday and get worse trough the weekend.
Good luck.

H
hunt-fish-trap
not to be a downer but is barton open for camping during the winter, also waco is the guy that you want to hit up on here, he is a clackamas fly fishing fool

M
metalfisher76
Nymphs are a good option. As are egg patterns and leeches. I don`t know anything about the Madison but if you got a sink tip and heavy flies/some shot.... think BOTTOM!....then yerr timing is golden to early, they are in tharr. Assuming them water levels hold and ya find a place to crash:)
Welcome to the forum...and do let us know...

Raincatcher
Raincatcher