New pole! Setup question for salmon/steel.

B
Big3d
Hey,

Just got a nice new heavy action 9' baitcasting rod i plan to use for winter steel and spring nooks, for now i have 1 reel, just wondering if you wonderful people could weigh in on line types and tests, hopefully i.ll get into the fall nooks a few times before their gone, so strength is a factor, by spring i should have a reel for salmon and a steelie reel, i was thinking braid but not sure about backlash and whatnot, i am new to baitcasters as i have used spinning reels since i was a wee lad on the deschutes in central oregon! Any words of wisdom area appreciated, my rivers of choice would be the clackamas and wilson if that makes a difference

T
troutmasta
If your going after Nooks Ive learned the hard way that you want 20-30 main. Ive used twelve but you'll lose lots of fish. I like 20 pound leader. As far as brand my 2 cents is P-Line X-strong Moss green. Some like High Vis line. If your gonna fish a lot of floats you might consider braided line it floats 20-30 pound, but its not the best for fishing on the bottom.

R
RunWithSasquatch
I fish 40lb braid for salmon and steelhead. The lighter braids in the 20-30lb varieties will break with just a few knicks in its weave. The heavier braids cast better, back lash less, and dont bite into the spool as bad when you snag, or fight a fish. Also a lot easier to tie knots on those cold mornings when your fingers are hurting.

B
Big3d
I was thinking 40 lb braid would be small enough for steel yet heavy enough for salmon i bobber fish but am trying to side drift lately.

O
OnTheDrop
Big3d said:
I was thinking 40 lb braid would be small enough for steel yet heavy enough for salmon i bobber fish but am trying to side drift lately.

65lb braid is a must on a fall chinook bobber setup. It's diameter is around 17lb i believe. No reason to go light for falls. I also like a 20-25lb leader.

G
grampa ron