Hard swimbaits

GungasUncle
GungasUncle
So I'm new to fishing hard swimbaits. I have yet to hook up and could use some tips from those who have more experience fishing them. The last time I was fishing, I had two HUGE bass follow the thing literally to within a rod length of me - one even took a half-hearted swipe at it before turning away, but it grabbed the tail and not the belly where the hook was. These were the two biggest bass I've ever personally seen in the lake. Obviously the swimbaits will draw the fishes' attention, but I am looking for more than followers, I want eaters!

The swimbait in question I was fishing was a Cabela's Fisherman Series 6" shad - it's double jointed, has a great wiggle on a slow retrieve, and when twitched it darts and dives enticingly. It is a slow sinker - on a 40 second count down it falls about 15 feet I'd estimate.

So, swimbait gurus, how do I get the fish to eat instead of just following it along. I was doing a slow retrieve with pauses every 5-10 seconds when I got the followers. As far as I know, I could not replicate the results on follow up casts, as I did not see any more fish following (that's not to say they weren't turning back before I could see the lure) - I did my best to work the water column from top to bottom, around obvious breaks/weed lines/points, I just could not get them to eat. The only hook up I had with a bass was on a lipless crank in the same area, before I was fishing the swimbait. After the followers, I switched up to different rigs - I tried crankbaits in the same area, I tried a carolina rigged 7 inch worm - big fish foods - but I couldn't buy a bite.

B
Billamicasr