Can I get a little "guidance" pleeeeeeease

D
Danny662boy
Ok so im new to fishing for steelhead in oregon (what's odd is that there is no size for a steelhead in the rules and regulation book and also that it's open year round?) so i've been heading to Riverside Park and Milo Mciver State Park, the only places that i've been ... ... I live in beaverton and have been making the trek down to the clackamas river more times at Mciver than riverside due to the sheer beauty of Mciver, and the fact that riverside gets kinda ghetto... dudes drinkin beers at 1030 am? not fishing, just lounging by there car drinking some beers.. anyway!

i just got in from Mciver, saw some salmon jumping (they sounded like huge rocks getting thrown into the river), but no steelhead.. i've been bobber fishing using drennan clear float, 1/8 inline sinker, then 8lb flurocarbon leader 36-48" long and then used those BeauMac jigs which i've heard so greatly about... i've used the pink heads with white feather, pink on pink, black head on black and purple feather, pink head with black and purple feathers, and nothing.... no bites.. nada... i've caught trout at this spot using the same setup with a hook and night crawler (no jig obviously)

I've used the pink worm's as well... i've used sand shrimp and nothing... no steelhead.. i know its summer, water's clear, they may be skiddish... what to do, what to do...

are there also any places closer to beaverton, somewhere on the Willamette? (clean spots on the Willamette)?

Casting Call
Casting Call
Welcome aboard Danny! Throw some hardware at em! CC

T
troutmasta
Casting Call said:
Welcome aboard Danny! Throw some hardware at em! CC

X2
Ive got three fish in 2 days right near Mciver all on spoons and spinners.

If you do go jigs go small and dark. but dont go jigs cuz hardware is hot right now.

D
Danny662boy
Spoons and spinners huh? Anything particular?? Colors??

C
ChezJfrey
Danny662boy said:
Spoons and spinners huh? Anything particular?? Colors??