Any skagit casters here?

N
ninja2010
i'm new to skagit casting and have a coupla questions...

i have a 9' 8wt fast action rod with an extended fighting butt (5") so it's not a problem to cast the double spey and snap-t. i'm spooled with a 375 gr 20' skagit short with a 10' sinktip, making the total 30', which is a bit over 3x the rod length. from what i understand, this setup should work fine... but for the life of me, i can barely shoot 25'-30' of running line.

is that because that's about all i can expect from a 9 footer? or is my line incorrect? i know that what i have (375 gr) is for 5/6wt switch/spey rod. am i underlined? what would happen if i overload the rod?

thanks in advance for any help on this.

M
mlw
I am a beginner too, so take this for what it's worth, but I have a 420 on a 10'8" 8wt switch, and it shoots fine. I have been watching a couple dvd's, Rio's Spey Casting and Ed Ward's Skagit Master (which is great). My guess is that Ed Ward could shoot a 375 on my rod considerably further than I can the 420.
Michael

A
Alaskan Assassin
I'm new to the Skagit casting game myself but havent tried these casts on my single hand rods. I think if you were to use an 11' Switch or a 12-13' Spey rod you would see a huge difference in your ability to cast further distances. Longer rods allow you to load easier and keep that line off the water.

Irishrover
Irishrover
ninja2010 said:
i'm new to skagit casting and have a coupla questions...

i have a 9' 8wt fast action rod with an extended fighting butt (5") so it's not a problem to cast the double spey and snap-t. i'm spooled with a 375 gr 20' skagit short with a 10' sinktip, making the total 30', which is a bit over 3x the rod length. from what i understand, this setup should work fine... but for the life of me, i can barely shoot 25'-30' of running line.