About ready to give up!

S
Shark 13
I have been fishing for Salmon Steel head for 2 years now. I have only managed to catch one steel head and one Salmon on a charter boat. I don't even want to know how much time and money I have put into fishing. Today on the South Santiam I watched 2 Salmon brought in and 1 steel head and at least 6 hook ups. I can't even get a hit. Tried floating jigs, row, throwing spinners and throwing every kind of corkie and yarn I could think of. It's starting to get to the point that's it not worth trying any more. I have probably been to the South Santiam at least 10-15 times this year and nothing and more then that last year with nothing. I don't know what the hell I'm doing wrong. I might give this one more season and if I don't figure this out. I'm just going to sell my gear and try and recoup some of my losses financially.

Q
qwapaw
It took-me a long time before I had any success. Just being on the river after work or on Saturday morning had a lot of value in it for me. Then all of a sudden I got a nice 7# steelhead hen. I didn't really know i had a bite, I thought I had a rock. I still don't set any records with my catching, but it am happy with it. I have a good fishing partner and we just have fun. Oh buy the way, my first fish came on the South Santiam about 8:00 pm one evening. There is nothing like the great Oregon outdoors. Good luck, and tight lines.

O
OnTheDrop
Hire a guide... 100-200$ well spent.

E
eugene1
Go with a buddy that knows the river like the back of their hand!

Good luck to you,

jamisonace
jamisonace
Yep. And make sure he knows you're there for knowledge. A good guide will take his time instructing you on methods and showing you how to read the water if he knows you're there to learn and not just to fill a freezer.

SteelmonKiller20 said:
Hire a guide... 100-200$ well spent.

T
TOJIACK FLOATMAN