Winter/summer steelhead

F
Fishpdx
Hello I'm new to steelhead fishing but have tried it a couple times with no luck. So I was Wondering if I could use this Setup for fishing steelhead in the clackamas river. 14146317149320.png

I want to use the salmon egg hooks which I use for trout, And I want to use single salmon eggs on them. So I'm just wondering if I can or will I have any luck with this>

S
sapo
I'm not an expert authority on this, but I'm pretty sure that most of the time that will not work for steelhead or salmon. You can use a bobber and a hook with salmon eggs, but for steelhead what is usually used is a bigger hook with an egg loop knot tied on. Then you cure your own or buy from a store a big jar of cured salmon eggs, not the small ones for trout but the bigger ones that you see in the fridge at fisherman's (cured yourself are better though). You put the section of eggs on the hook , push some of the line from the egg loop knot through the hook eye, put the loop around the eggs, and pull. That's usually the rig used for salmon/steelhead bobber and egg fishing. You'll probably not catch many steelhead or salmon with single small salmon eggs on trout salmon egg hooks. That's my input. Thanks!

F
Fishpdx
sapo said: