Sandy River Salmon/Steelhead Questions

M
MicahCarrick
Hello again guys. I'm very new river fishing but am eager to learn so that I can fish in the mornings for a couple hours year round. Since I live in Portland, I decided Salmon/Steelhead on the Sandy was the way to go (I don't have a boat).

I've been out to Dabney for a couple hours 3 mornings now (don't want to deal with angry crowds at Cedar Creek since I'm just learning). The first time, I had all the wrong gear (my experience is with lakes and small streams). I went up yesterday and today with the intention of learning how to use my new baitcast reel and while I did spend much of my time fixing tangles from backlash, I feel like I'm getting the hang of it now.

So, now that I'm getting ready to actually try to pay attention to when and what I'm fishing for, I have a few questions.

When reading books and articles, authors use river fishing terms that I'm not quite familiar with (tailouts, holding water, etc.) Does anyone know of a good book or online article which talks about this river fishing lingo?

For example. this morning I watched dozens and dozens of salmon swim up the ripples created by water from a slower pool flowing over these rocks (picture below) and then they would stay right up on top facing up stream. What is this called?

[IMG2=JSON]{"data-align":"none","data-size":"full","src":"http:\/\/www.micahcarrick.com\/tmp\/downstream-ripples.jpg"}[/IMG2]

The salmon I was seeing EVERYWHERE (picture below) had lots of white spots and whitish tails--frankly they looked "sickly". A couple of them were thrashing around on the other bank, but most were just sitting there facing upstream. I'm assuming these are spawning or have already spawned and are not the fish we want to catch... is that correct? People talk about color a lot and it seems like the silver or "brighter" red ones are ideal? Do these spots indicate a salmon that has spawned and is dying?