Newbie lookin for some guidance

R
Rogue Greenhorn
Hello all, Im new to Oregon and also to Fishing really. Ive been a few times but was never really taught anything about it other than hook a worm add a little weight and cast it out into the water and wait. The only fish I remember catching was a Carp that washed over the dam into the rocks below during the summer when the water was low and I picked it up to toss it back into the water.

Im from the Midwest and have had Salmon many times but never had Steelhead til I moved here and I love both and many other fish Ive had in my 36 years. My goal is to catch something I can bring home and grill for a meal or 2. The more I read the more confused I get with all the different options and regulations from one species to another, native/stocked, and not meaning just the 2 already mentioned but all other fish in the area also.
I would love to do a guided trip but I have lower back problems and dont know if I could handle sitting in a boat for 6 to 8 hrs and Im not sure Im willing to spend that much money to find out.

I currently have a 6 or 6.5 ft Shakesphere Durango with a Zebco 33 that I got because i could afford it the day I was going to a friends house, to drink beer, who happened to live on the river and I thought, Why not? Well, at least I caught a buzz.

What Im lookin for is suggestions on a decent, on the lower side of price range, set up that would work for someone like myself who just wants to enjoy a day on the bank and maybe catch dinner. Pole length, line, tackle, anything you could think of that might help a little. Reference links would be great too as all I can find when I search are guided trips. I can cast and reel my line back in but thats about the extent of my knowledge so anything helps.

I live in Eagle Point, am OMMP compliant and drink/ brew beer so if theres anyone similar that would like to meet up and sit on the bank and offer some live guidance and shoot the breeze I would be into that also.