N Umpqua newbie

M
mtnplzur
Last week (Feb 10-12) I traveled to OR to fish the N Umpqua for the first time around the "Camp Water" section at Steamboat. Fished swinging various flies with a sink tip for three days. I failed to even get a tug from a fish. The river was flowing about 3500 cfs at Winchester and was relatively clear 6+. I am just learning the patterns of winter steelhead and would appreciate any pointers.
Thoroughly searching the water for evidence of fish made me wonder if the winter steelhead run will be later in the month after a significant rain event; were they loaded up in the Steamboat Creek; or were they holding deeply in fast water that required different tactics.
I plan to return for another attempt.

jamisonace
jamisonace
It's a tough stretch of river and you really need to know it. They say you need to put in 1000 casts before you can expect a fish up there. I've never fished it in the winter but I'm sure there are fish up there with many more to come over the next month or so. I highly suggest using a guide for one day up there. They'll show you the spots and maybe get you into a fish but you'll get a good idea of how to fish it. Having a guides knowledge for one day is the only reason I've caught summers up there. Best of luck to ya.

H
halibuthitman
ditch the swinging for winters, Ive killed em up there on black stonefly nymphs and black wool headed sculpins dead drifted.. last fall I followed 3 spey casters through 2 runs and hooked up 3 times in water they just pounded... Intrueder flies are for summer or spring fish, natural streamer patterns produce winter fish.... stoneflies produce every fish... everyone seems to skip the shallow skinny water and fish the water they "need" or "like"... 2 feet deep and moving fast into a turn is where I found most of my fish the last few times I was down there-

M
mtnplzur