McKenzie River fly fishing for beginner

S
Speedymaru
Hello, first off I want to apologize for being this guy. I have never fly fished before, and would like to learn the art of it. I recently picked up a rod and reel and have done a fair bit of research. However, I am still stumped on what to throw. I plan to fish the McKenzie river mainly, in the Springfield/Eugene area.

So my question is, what are some good flies for me to learn on?

Also, I don’t want to ask for anyone’s spot, but could anyone recommend a good place that I could wade out a little and get into some fish?

I don’t care much about size of the fish, I’m mainly just in it for th experience and learning.

Thanks for all the information

Last edited by a moderator:
B
BrandonBeach
Welcome to the sport!

I’m not an expert on fly fishing by any stretch, I only know how I started a couple decades ago.

A friend took me to a casting pond and gave me some “basics”. Then I struggled on the water with reading the water and fly selection etc...

Yes, I and a lot of people on this board could type endlessly on about different flys for all the different situations, but I would seriously recommend going with a buddy or a person with experience with the long pole. As for where to fish, there are people on this board in the area that you are looking to fish that are fare more familiar on locations then I.

Short of that, consider a guided trip as a learning experience.