Wilson River fishing for a beginner

P
probably
Later this week I'll be camping along the Wilson River. Probably at either Keenig Creek or Elk Creek campgrounds. I have some new and unused fishing gear and would like to spend some time making a beginner's attempt at catching something. I'm happy to drive or hike to a spot anywhere in that region.

I'm not a total beginner, but pretty close. I've fished a lot but it's been more than 25 years, was in a different state, mostly at scout camps and my uncle's pond. Never had a fishing license. Never even fished for anything specific.

Do I understand correctly that all I need is a One Day Angling license for $23?

Anyone care to offer general guidance to someone just getting started (again)? What kind of fish should I be aiming for? What laws should I be aware of? How am I most likely to mess this up?

D
Davpot
Hello Probably😉
You Mite want to get a Regulation book and study it. Or you can stop by ODFW offices for suggestions.
Good luck! And bend those barbs!
Dave

Reactions: Casting Call and probably
rogerdodger
rogerdodger
Davpot said:
Hello Probably😉
You Mite want to get a Regulation book and study it. Or you can stop by ODFW offices for suggestions.
Good luck! And bend those barbs!
Dave

good advice, you can also pull up the e-regs online, Wilson is in the NW zone, check it's special regs under 'Exceptions'.

as for using barbless hooks, last time I checked not required on the Wilson river? ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Reactions: probably and Casting Call
troutdude
troutdude
26 2022 OREGON SPORT FISHING REGULATIONS
NORTHWEST ZONE
NORTHWEST ZONE REGULATIONS
SPECIES BAG LIMIT SIZE LIMIT AND OTHER SPECIFICATIONS SEASON
Trout
Lakes: 5 per day,
3 daily limits in
possession.
Streams: (including
tidewaters and
bays): 2 per day,
3 daily limits in
possession.
• Angling restricted to artificial flies and lures in streams above tidewater, May 22 -
Aug 31. See Exceptions where use of bait is allowed.
• 8 inch minimum length.