What to use in the river for trout or steelhead

mijacques
mijacques
Hey everybody! Spent most of my life fishing for bass in lakes and fishing offshore in Alaska. Live in Oregon City and looking to bank fish the local rivers but kinda lost lol. I have a pretty big selection of poles, reels, and gear but don't really know what to use in the river for trout or steelhead. Any advice would greatly be appreciated!! Thanks!!!

maxwyatt
maxwyatt
I'm still pretty new to steelhead, but I'll take a stab at it. More than anything, the gear you choose will depend on the method you want to use. If you're casting spinners or drifting bait/yarnies a ~6-7ft pole that can take 6-12lb line is probably adequate (I have a couple 6' 6" poles for spinners). Float fishing will require a longer rod. I initially tried to float fish with a 7'6" pole, but it was very apparent, after the first time, that a longer pole was warranted. I picked up a 9'6" Okuma combo for ~$90 and have been fishing with it for a few years. More money will get you nicer gear. Other folks will probably chime in with more specific gear suggestions.

mijacques
mijacques
Thanks for the reply! I'll probably be doing a little of everything. I wanted to try float fishing with a slip bobber. Just trying to figure out what to put on the end of it lol. Probably way overthinking this stuff.

maxwyatt
maxwyatt
FWIW, If I was to buy another pole for float fishing, I'd go with a 10' or longer pole. Makes it easier to mend the line. But it'll be slightly harder to carry through the brush....

mijacques
mijacques
I was just watching a video on mending the line a second ago lol. I'm pretty sure I have a couple poles 8.5 or maybe 9 ft ill have to look. Def a lot more to this than fishing for Mahi or Halibut I'm used to that's for sure!!!

Grant22
Grant22