Summer steelhead setup

E
engineerfisherman
I'm new to steelhead fishing and recently purchased a Field and Stream IM7 9' 6-10lb medium light action 1/4-1/2oz since it was on sale and the guy at Dicks said it was a great starter rod for steelhead. I also bought a Pflueger president reel since it was also on sale and recommended as a good reel. Now that I have this setup I'm looking for what type of fishing it is best for. I know a lot of people like longer rods for float fishing, but is it really necessary? I have both 10lb and 20lb braided line, but I'm not sure which one to use or what to use for a leader. Right now I'm assuming this setup will work for float fishing unless told differently. I will be both bank and boat fishing this year so should I have different setups for each?

B
bran_man
Yeah if you're going to have braid as your mainline, I would use it as a float rod for sure. For your leaders, I would use 10 or 8 pound test mono depending on which pound test you decide to go for your mainline. I usually have my leaders about 1 1/2 - 2 feet long. Steelhead stalkers has a website with tons of how to tutorials on setting up rods. Great references! I learned a lot of my own stuff from their vids when k was first starting out. The idea of a longer rod for float fishing is so you can cast farther, and mend your line easier at distances and do hook sets at farther distances. For float fishing, I use a 9' 6" or a 10'6" rod. For drift fishing for summer steel I use a 8'6" with 10lb main and 8 lb leader. Float fishing is a great method for beginning steelheaders! It's obvious when you have a strike and you go through a lot less gear than learning drift fishing (i would still highly recommend learning drift fishing too because its super deadly) hope that helps! :)

E
engineerfisherman