Pontoon on the Clack

F
Fly_n_Fish
I was planning on taking my pontoon down the clack this Friday and was wondering if any one had any words of wisdom. I found some good pointers online like take a rope so you can walk it through the sketchy bits. I've only been on some lakes so far, so as you can imagine my experience is pretty low. PFD is a given. Some of my questions were
How long should I plan on going from McIvers to Clackamette park
What about anchors? I plan on pulling on shore to fish but I was still wondering about anchoring is it just a bad idea or is it ok in calmer spots.
Any Thoughts on what fly patterns to use and tips on how to fish them. I've been fly fishing for a long time but I'm new to steelhead.

Also if any one was planning on going that day you could PM me and maybe we could meet up. I wouldn't mind some advice along the way.

M
Modest_Man
Do not anchor a pontoon in a river. Without a keel things can get sketchy quickly. How big of a pontoon? Sounds like it's a small (one person) pontoon and I would not put in at upper McIver. I think McIver to Clackamette would be a multi day trip if you fished, though I have not done it myself. McIver to Barton or Barton to Carver would be a good trip. I have Friday off and could possibly be convinced to float the Clack, though I throw gear for steelhead.

V
veilside180sx
Upper McIver to Barton takes about 4 hrs for a straight drift, and Barton to Carver is the same. If you tried to float all the way to Clackamette you'd be looking at close to a 12 hr run w/o stopping to smell the roses.

I'll throw you a bone...this is what you have to look forward to, and this is just the park section.

https://vimeo.com/39874594

That stretch of the Clack is not the most newcomer friendly, if you have no moving water rowing experience.

F
Fly_n_Fish
Thanks for the info. I was pretty sure the anchoring thing was a bad idea and my time frames were way off.