I feel like giving up. Plz help.

S
SquidHC
Hello all,

I have been reading all day today, and as you can see this is my first time posting on your site. I have had the opportunity to catch a handful of bass in my life, and focused on them hard all of last year. So here's the problem... I caught 3 smallies last year. That's it. I spent probably around 20 fishless days doing everything I could think of to catch a dang bass. I don't know if I'm cursed, or if I'm just plain dumb, but man I can't catch em. I am shore fishing for now (though I just purchased a small fixer boat!!!). I have spent countless time reading techniques, and have been a successful trout/salmon/steelhead fisherman for years.

So heres what I am looking for I guess. I need somewhere to go that any idiot could catch some bass. I live in Clackamas, so somewhere within an hour or so would be nice. Now I know nothing is ever a guarantee, but I'm just so bummed out and fed up and really need a boost. Does anyone have any suggestions as to where I should go next?

Thanks for your time and consideration.

C
catfishman89
Clackamette park is a great spot. Or the east bank esplanade downtown. The willamette fishes a lot better from shore in about june or late may. Try fishing early and in the evening and shade during the day. Cloudy days are better to. Drag texas rigged 3 inch senkos on the bottom. Dont fish on sand or muddy areas. Look for rocks and fish the down current side or right in the current. Pretty much any rocky area on the willamette has bass you ju st have to get them to bite. Use 1/32 to 1/64 oz of weight on the senko.

R
rl206
That's how I felt all of 2010 pretty much, my buddy would go out and rope em and call me on the water and I would not have a single fish yet.
I went MANY times out and got nothing or maybe an occasional dink, don't give up.
Like mentioned above senko's are a good self asteem bait. Try throwing weedless and weightless, they helped me a lot.