How do you "Drift"?

T
Troutier Bassier
I was woundering how to drift cause i want to start drifting for species like Bass, Steelhead Salmon, Trout, Walleye, Pikeminnow.
When someone says drifting i think of about 40 different rigs. So can anyone help me on how to drift BAIT! thanks

B
beaverfan
I'm no expert but I rig like this. I tie a snap swivel to my mainline, then I tie about 1.5-3ft leader to the other end of the swivel itself so that the snap is hanging down freely. Then I take my slinky weight and clip it onto the snap.

T
Troutier Bassier
ok, but then what do u do next???

I
I Grade
I am a intermediate level drift fisherman. I tend to rig in much the same way as the beaverfan, but I prefer to use 3/16" pencil lead and just crimp it onto my leader tag after I tie it on. If the weight catches on bottom you can still save the rig and just crimp on more weight. I also tend to use about a 3' leader when its low and clear. I switch to 2' when its high and dirty. Some people swear by a 10' leader, but I don't have any first hand knowledge of that :D. I would also advise that you not bother trying to catch bass drifting. I have never accidentally hooked one while drifting for salmonids. They prefer lures in my experience. Also, this time of year its more fun to fish for salmonids using hardware. Spinners are a BLAST during the warmer months. I love drifting in the cooler months, but spring and summer are all about spinners for me!

I Grade

T
Troutier Bassier
Thanks!
I undertsand what to do now. How do you drift spinners??? Same way???
And what do you do after your drift has ended?? do you catch fish when you reel in???

I
I Grade