Completely New to Fly Fishing

FairweatherFisher
FairweatherFisher
Hey everyone,

I’m an absolute beginner at fly fishing. I took a class from the Caddis Fly shop (Eugene) this past weekend, and want to get out and start trying to land some fish!

In addition to seeking any tips, tricks, and tidbits of wisdom you all would be kind enough to share with me, I have a question.
Can I use any old hook and bait? For instance, I have some #10 hooks and yellow power bait that I’ve had pretty good luck with catching hatchery trout on my spinning rod. Is there any reason I couldn’t use that same set up on my fly rod?

Irishrover
Irishrover
When you are making false cast to load your rod, that power bait might just go flying off the hook. The fly rod, and fly line are best suited to and designed for fishing with flies.

Get your hands on a copy of the Curtis Creek Manifesto by Sheridan Anderson and spend some time reading it. It will cut your learning curve by 50%.

https://www.thriftbooks.com/w/curti...f06888e72191f99#idiq=11284723&edition=3827197

Tight lines!

Reactions: Echskech, Casting Call, troutdude and 1 other person
FairweatherFisher
FairweatherFisher
Irishrover said:
Rather than waiting, I went down to the Alton Baker canal and tried it, and that’s exactly what happened. Well, actually the hook and PB went flying off. Then I tied in a fly, and that also went flying off after about a dozen casts.

I’ve never had that happen on a spinning rod. I think I need to reevaluate how I’m tying on my hooks.

TheKnigit
TheKnigit
You might look at your casting before revisiting the knots that you are tying. There can be a couple of reasons to lose a fly.

1. Fly was to large for the tippet/leader.
2. You are starting your forward cast to soon. Are you hearing a snap or crack sound like a whip when you are casting?
3. You might have snagged brush or grass on your back cast.