Any steelhead or spring chinook success in the salem/portland area?

F
flymann
Hi!

I plan on getting out and going fishing this weekend for steelhead or spring chinook, and need some advice (I'm very new to fishing in general). I will be using a spinning rod, and do not know where to go or what to use. I've been thinking about heading up to the Clackamas River, and trying some floaters with eggs, but am open to trying anything!

Thanks for the input!!

troutdude
troutdude
Welcome to OFF!

There's the Sandy on the east side of Portland. And south is the Clackamas.

East of Salem is the North Santiam.

Most steelies on the South Santiam are now being caught w/ bobbers and jigs or bobbers and pink power worms. Also try small spinners too. Generally brass bodies and blades on an overcast day; and silver/chrome spinners on a bright day.

Good luck.

F
flymann
Great! I will have to pick up some pink power worms and jigs - and give them a shot.

Thanks for the help!

troutdude
troutdude
U R most welcome.

BTW, I've heard that pink or pink & black jigs work well.

C
capblack
where do you live? I prefer the santiam, and there should be springers and summers on the lower santiam, lower the better, try the santiam rest area, jefferson, and greens bridge. good luck, Brian

F
flymann
Thanks for the advice Brian! I was thinking about trying the Santiam this Saturday, and if I do, I will definitely try out a few of those spots. I'm currently living in Corvallis, and will move to Eugene this Summer. I am definitely looking forward to learning as much as I can about the best places to fish in the area, and appreciate everyone's advice!

Thanks again!

J
jathrtn
Drifting!

Drifting!