St Louis early trout fishing

G
grizzlynitemare
What's the report for this early in the year?

I know St Louis is being stocked from now until the end of April with trout. I forget which pond they stock. But I'm wondering if anyone has, or is going to fish there soon and how to fish it for trout in the next couple weeks.

Besides trout, anything else being pulled out of there right now?

I come from fishing the cascade lakes and Eugene area streams and rivers, I am still learning to fish St. Louis. So any other tips for the rest of the year would be appreciated. :)

O
o clarki
Fished it Friday before they opened the gate for the season. I was expecting relatively uncrowded conditions. It was absolutely packed with people. Cars lined both sides of the road from the locked gate almost to the entrance.

Fishing was solid, with decent numbers of small fish and a few really nice fish in the mix, but it was just too crowded for me. The pond they had stocked, number 6, was basically ringed with people. Fishing was steady for 8-10 inch rainbows and I also landed a chunky 18 incher. I hooked another like that but didn't land it. Now that the gate is open I can't imagine the crowds are any better. There are probably still a few fish around though. I think they planted over 2000.

G
grizzlynitemare
o clarki said:
Fished it Friday before they opened the gate for the season. I was expecting relatively uncrowded conditions. It was absolutely packed with people. Cars lined both sides of the road from the locked gate almost to the entrance.