Salmon fishing for the first time near Portland- help and advice

B1purtle
B1purtle
Hello

Thank you in advance to anyone who replies. My name is Brian. And I’m coming to Portland for a mini vacation from out of state April 8-13 to visit a friend and we’d like to do some SHORE, salmon and maybe steelhead fishing (imNot sure it’s steelhe season). Unfortunately we organized the trip last minute so didn’t have time to charter a guide or boat. I have never fished for salmon or steelhead before- I am experienced in fishing for trout and catfish and have targeted some big brown trout and rainbows where I live, but I know salmon and steelhead fishing is very different requiring much bigger tackle, and I know Oregon has some specific regulations to be followed. I’m just looking for any advice on where to fish, how to fish for the salmon and what rod and reel and tackle techniques to use- I’m basically a beginner for Salmon and steelhead. I’ll have a rental car and I bought a 9’ medium -heavy Okuma travel rod with a 6000 size spinning reel- i know baitcasters are recommended but I’ve never used them and was told they foul up a lot if you aren’t proficient with them. I was planing to visit a local tackle shop for the rest of my tackle but am not sure what stores would be good to go to that might have knowledgeable helpful sales staff.

I’ve been told the Columbia river will be closed to fishing starting April 10th, but that the Willamette and clackamas confluence are better places to fish (some place called meldrum bar). I was planing to use my rod and reel with 25lb mono line but have no idea what else to rig or how to rig. I’ve been told shrimp is a good bait , not sure about weight sizes either. I typically lake fish so this is quite different.

Any advice or tips on places that might have advice would be appreciated. I’m hoping my 9’ Rod isn’t too small for salmon.

Thanks!

troutdude
troutdude
@B1purtle welcome to OFF. I hope that you have a great time in Oregon.