Opinions on wild vs hatchery salmonids

T
the_intimidator03
Well I am in need of some sources for a paper im writing in class. Subject is the interaction of wild and hatchery salmonids. Basically I just want to see what people have for thoughts in this area. Things im looking at in the paper are the way they are alike or different, I.E. run timing, fighting, taste etc. Or if and/or how they compete with each other for breeding grounds or food. Basically looking at some of your first hand thoughts and observations pertaining to salmon, steelhead, and trout.

I kind of want to keep this broad based. The majority of my focus in the paper stems in the Pac NW and I figured it would be a good way to see what the fisherfolks in oregon view the hatchery system in all its good and bad and possibly provide a view of how it could be improved.

J
Johnny Southpaw
Sounds like an interesting paper/project. I'm by no means an expert about the behavioral/biological differences/likeness between wild and hatchery salmonids but I will share my opinion based on my own experiences and from what I've learned from others. Other OFFers please feel free to chime in or correct me if you think I'm wrong.

Generally speaking, hatchery fish return a bit sooner than their non-clipped brethren.
'Wild' fish definitely fight a bit harder-a bit more spunk and seemingly more aggressive/willing to bite
As for taste, I think it's more a matter of how 'fresh' they are from the ocean more than anything else.

I'm sure there's loads of literature on these topics if you want a more 'objective' perspective. However, fisherman are great resources and are full of knowledge that sometimes the guys in lab-coats either overlook or are ignorant to. I hope this helps and you're paper turns out great.

T
the_intimidator03