New builder testing at Walling Pond

N
newspin
Hi every body,

New to O.F.F.

I have been fishing in Dallas /Salem area for better part of two decades chasing mostly trout.

however decided to start building my own lures (mostly small ultralight spinners) because;

A. I'm a do it myself type and,

B. I'm a family man and therefore CHEAP! ha ha.

I have the advantage of working within five minutes of walling pond and intend to test lures during lunches.

Im using an ugly stick 4' 8" ultralight and light spider wire braided line

SO i Could really use info on the following; colors, patterns, locations to take four boys (9-3 months).

posted picture of a couple early lures for critique.

photo.jpg

rogerdodger
rogerdodger
Welcome to OFF, those look great, can't help you with that area but lots of folks on here that can... cheers, roger

N
newspin
thanks for reply rodger

Raincatcher
Raincatcher
Unfortunately, Walling Pond attracts a ton of sketchy people and they leave behind some nasty lil surprises like syringes. For what it's worth, in my opinion your boys would have a better time and be safer at Walter Wirth. It is just past Walmart and also has a park with a playground if you walk or drive across the bridge. It's also stocked frequently. Be sure to take a couple loaves of cheap bread or bird seed to feed all the ducks, seagulls and geese. Just be aware they can be a little intimidating.

N
newspin
raincatcher you are a so grama lol excellent point.
I intend on using walling for testing and lunch break sanity fishing lol.
you are too right a lot of ... ya those types there reminds me why i got a chl along time ago.
that being said is there a perfered spot at walter worth. though i would prefer to teach them on some of the smaller rivers and streams
any body know of a good spot for kids up fall city way before you hit a gate or a short walk (think toddler strides) beyond.

Markk
Markk
You came to right place! They look great. Welcome to OFF!

Reactions: Troutski