Good fly fishing water

K
koboabe
Hello all,
I am not new to trout fishing, but I am new to Fly Fishing.
I have a friend who wants to teach me, but she just moved here from out of state.
I don't want any honey hole info, but can anyone share basic location and pattern/color info for my first learning experience?

O
OnTheFly
Procede with caution! Fly fishing may change the way you fish forever! August is a slow month but you can still pick up fish. Any lake holding fish will do. I would start with #10 olive, black or brown crystal buggers, and Carey specials work very well. Good luck out there.

M
Markcanby
Or if you want to actualy fly fish (Sorry OTF:lol:) try Copper John in any of riffles in the Molalla. Its slow but its good pratice water an you will get a few here an there.

O
OnTheFly
Markcanby said:
Or if you want to actualy fly fish (Sorry OTF:lol:) try Copper John in any of riffles in the Molalla. Its slow but its good pratice water an you will get a few here an there.

Well....you heard him say he didn't want any info about honey holes. Heck, If he had asked I'da told him where mine were! lol.

M
Markcanby
I was referring to you love of wooly buggers!:lol:

OTF thinks kicking back in his toon with a beer an a smoke trolling buggers is the only way to fly fish!:lol::lol::lol:

O
OnTheFly
Markcanby said:
I was referring to you love of wooly buggers!:lol:

OTF thinks kicking back in his toon with a beer an a smoke trolling buggers is the only way to fly fish!:lol::lol::lol:

LOL! and this is coming from a guy who targets carp and finds enjoyment hanging from cliffs hunting chuckers......get real!:lol::lol:

E
everett464
I have to say... When I say OTF as the second post on the thread I was like, here we go... lakes and buggers.