Fun weekend at the beach

S
skunk
Went to tillamook this weekend for a little relaxation. Tried fishing of the north jetty at Barview and was rewarded with a little action. Fun thing about the ocean is you never know whats coming up from the depths. Got three greenlings, one cabezon, and one nice fat good tasting sea bass.

Last edited by a moderator:
T
troutmasta
I'm a rookie at fishing in the ocean. But I've fished off the jetty Newport and caught all sorts off crazy stuff. I still suck at it though and have never got a bass or lingcod any advice?

Raincatcher
Raincatcher
Way to go!

Way to go!

skunk;
Thanks for the encouraging report. Looks like you had a good day over there. Someday I plan on trying my hand at some ocean fishing. That sea bass looks like dinner,glad to hear it was good tasting. :clap:

S
skunk
I'm no expert either, troutmasta, but I stuck with it and sort of figured it out. Best setup I could work with was to set up like drift fishing for steelhead. 3 way swivel, 4-6" of pencil lead right off the swivel, and then about 20" leader to hook baited with fresh sand shrimp. Had a heck of a time getting those sand shrimp to stay on. Finally tried some of the strechy string and got it to work ok. I tried pyramid wt and the flat round wt but both got hung up a lot worse than the pencil lead. Also longer leaders tended to get hung up worse. I am going to try golf balls for wt next time. Small hole and put in thread-in eyes. See if they bounce off rocks better. All in all its fun, just bring lots, lots, lots of tackle.

M
Mike123
How do Geenlings taste?

I've caught a few but always threw them back cause they were small and didn't know how they'd taste?

I know I like bass and cabezon! Deep fried in some batter! Lemon and dill, and tarter sauce.. MMmmmmm

S
skunk