Fly recommendations for upper Nestucca?

F
frontierhistorian
I plan to try my hand on the Nestucca below Elk Creek soon. I'm still a novice fly fisher, so I welcome any suggestions for fly patterns or techniques. Mostly trout, as I'm using a 5 wgt rod, but I welcome Steelhead suggestions, too.

Casting Call
Casting Call
Elk Creek, Black or Red, San Juan worm. Red for clear water, Black for da,rk water. Make sure that the black worm has a brass neck. Tony 10%er

Last edited:
Reactions: frontierhistorian
O. mykiss
O. mykiss
I have never fished the nestucca for trout but I have fished several other streams nearby. I did well with green rock worms and small copper John flies. When the time after warms I like to use size 14 and 16 stimulators with a dropper to a size 18 or 20 green rockworm

C_Run
C_Run
I don't know about the flies but that area is one of my favorite winter steelheading beats. I always run into a fat trout or two when I go. Good luck.

Diehard
Diehard
I would recommend a trout sinking nymph maybe in a brown with a brass head just out of curiosity is that road finally open it was closed a couple yrs ago just before you get to elk crk for road work

F
frontierhistorian
Thanks, all!

Yes, the road is now open -- the gravel portion has been paved, making it the best piece of the whole stretch.

I tried various nymphs including a Copper John, in various configurations including dropping off a stimulator, indicator, and one or two other dry flies. I didn't have any red or black worms or green rock worms. After a few hours I final got a strike (more than one, maybe by the same fish, on the stimulator), but I didn't hook anything.