Elusive salmon search

L
lizzay
Hey guys, Im new to OFF as well as Oregon. I've been lurking and learning a lot about the fisheries up here in this forum and I would like to thank everyone.

I've been fishing the clackamas banks at riverside park the last 3 days with jigs, roe, at the bottom, and also bobbering with no luck. A guy on a drift boat said its been very tuff fishing lately but he managed a couple stealheads that day.

Yesterday I went to Oxbow in the afternoon (day 4) to try out the Sandy with no luck either. I spoke to a fly fishing guy there and he said he also had a rough day out as well. He was very generous in taking the time to show me a few things about fly fishing. So far Ive experienced great people sharing a common interest. I shall have a report with some nice fishes hopefully sooner than later.

Last edited:
T
TimberTodd
Welcome to OFF. Keep after it and you will be posting some pics. Good luck.

troutdude
troutdude
Welcome to OFF, and to our great state.

Salmon & Steelhead, are two of the hardest species to dial in. Especially in low / clear water. Just be persistent, and eventually it will pay OFF.

S
sapo
Nice! Welcome to the forum. Did you fish at the boat launch area at Oxbow?

L
lizzay
Thanks for the warm welcome and support everybody. Im really looking forward to a great winter season. Let there be rain!

@Sapo, no I wasn't fishing there but was just figuring the place out and eventually went about halfway of the park where there is a small parking lot on the side that has the river. Walked down to a small beach.

T
TimberTodd
lizzay said:
Let there be rain!

Washed and waxed the truck Sunday. So far it doesn't look like I satisfied the rain gods.

S
sapo
lizzay said:
Let there be rain!