Deschutes at Eagle Crest in Redmond

A
alm21
I'm going to be at Eagle Crest in two weeks and want to get the line wet. The regs say it's open for trout all year for flies and lures. I'm new to fly fishing but will take both my fly rod and spinning.

Any suggestions on flies/lures for this time of year?

E
eggs
I'd call a local(Eagle Crest) tackle shop and ask them what hatches are going to be taking place and match your flies to that. Unless someone from the area on heer knows.

S
steelhead_stalkers
We caught lots of browns last Christmas (while staying at eagle crest) using small blue fox spinners and jerkbaits. Nice area there.

A
alm21
eggs said:
I'd call a local(Eagle Crest) tackle shop and ask them what hatches are going to be taking place and match your flies to that. Unless someone from the area on heer knows.

Ah, right - good idea.

steelhead_stalkers said:
We caught lots of browns last Christmas (while staying at eagle crest) using small blue fox spinners and jerkbaits. Nice area there.

Cool, I have plenty of blue fox spinners and a couple jerkbaits to throw at them. I'm fortunate enough to have access to a condo there so we end up going down 3-4x a year. I don't know why I haven't fished it before! :doh:

M
McMudpuddle
Check out the crooked river if you get a chance. it can be real nice this time of year just below the dam.

A
alm21
McMudpuddle said:
Check out the crooked river if you get a chance. it can be real nice this time of year just below the dam.

Thanks for the suggestion. I'm not sure I'll have time to check it out though. I am only going to be down there a couple days one of which will be spent on Bachelor snowboarding with my son. The great thing about the Deschutes is that I will be able to walk out of the condo and take a trail to be on the water in about 10 mins. Snowboarding, fishing, lounging...it's going to be a great bday weekend! :D

Raincatcher
Raincatcher
Have a great bday weekend...so jealous