2500 or 3000 Shimano spinning reel?

V
Veiði
A little background on me. I am new to fishing in general, I just started fishing last spring. I don't know anybody in my area who does any fishing, so everything I've learned up to this point has been the result of either me reading or talking with other fisherman I run into. Thus far my experience is limited to rainbows in stocked lakes, which is better than nothing, but I want more. Decided awhile back I want to go for steelhead due to the challenge. I've been reading up on tons of stuff on steelies for about a month now, which is actually how I ended up stumbling upon this fine forum, trying to find any info to help me on the steelhead thread pertaining to gear & techniques. Which brings me to my question.

My lurking around on this thread has brought me to the conclusion I want to get a shimano spinning reel. But where I need help is whether I should go for the 2500 or 3000 series. I totally get the advantage of the 3000 series is bigger line lb test, but like the idea of going with the smaller 2500 for more of a fight. I guess what I am mainly worried about here is- if I go with the 2500 am I limiting myself? In one of the posts on this thread I recall seeing a member say he uses 6# line for spring/summer steely, while going with 8# or 10# for winter- which wouldn't be feasible on the 2500. Would I be alright going for winter steely with 6# on the 2500, or if I am looking for a good year round reel should I go with the 3000?

I'll go ahead & apologize in advance for any obvious newbie mistakes I may have posted. As I said, up to this point I've had no one to help me so I've learned the majority of my knowledge on my own via reading. Also, thanks in advance for your time & suggestions.

V
Veiði
I guess I should also specify I am talking in terms of mono line. Braided is a beast I would prefer to wait to try out once I get more experience under my belt.

D
DrTheopolis