Thoughts on braided line...

P
PNW Sam
So I'm pretty new to steelhead/ salmon fishing and I need some advice about line.

Besides trout stuff I have one reel, and currently one rod (North River 9ft 10-30lb), and I'm going to get another rod very soon (thinking a 7ft lighter rod for steelhead). I was planning on just swapping out my reel between the rods until I get another hundred bucks to get a second reel. My current reel is a Daiwa "Millionaire Classic" 300L (high capacity), cost 65 bucks.

The problem is that to effectively fish for nooks and steelhead I would need to swap between the 25lb mono that I have on now and a lighter line. Needless to say, that would be a pain, although it would be temporary.

So, my question is, should I just put on like 40lb braid and call it good? If so, is it required to have a mono backing? Are there any disadvantages to using braid? When I get another reel I would likely leave my current one with heavier line and put lighter line on my new one.

I would also use the reel for big carp and catfish so I would essentially be switching line 3 or 4 times a year.

Thanks for the help guys! :lol:

R
RunWithSasquatch
40lb braid would work awesome for what you want!

I will add that in the long run, you probably wont be happy with a 7' rod for salmon or steelhead, a bit on the short side.

Only disadvantage is if you havent fished with it, there is a small learning curve.

Not horrible. Generally need a few new knots in your arsenal, hook sets, and drags have to be softer because there isn't any stretch in the braid and you can pop leaders. Tip wrap.

Usually people have a hard time with it at first, and dont like it. Once you warm up to braid, its awesome.

Reactions: PNW Sam
P
PNW Sam
Alright man, thanks! I'll probably go ahead and use braid. But do I need a mono backing? I've heard conflicting opinions about this.

I'm getting the 7 footer because the 9 can be a real hassle to cast around trees and brush.

J
JeannaJigs
PNW Sam said: