Springers, Meldrum Bar,McIver

F
Fishpdx
How is spring Chinook fishing doing at meldrum bar ? Anyone have any luck? I've been wanting to visit meldrum since there a decent amount of Chinook that passed the falls.
Also when do springers reach Mc Iver park? I'm thinking if they will be there like middle of may .

P
pinstriper
Only way to find out is go out and fish it. Then you can be the first one reporting the catch.

Honestly, while I love to live vicariously through others' fishing success, asking if anyone is getting fish so you can decide its time to hit the hot spot is...kinda like how the sea lions do it (!)

F
Fishpdx
pinstriper said:
Only way to find out is go out and fish it. Then you can be the first one reporting the catch.

Honestly, while I love to live vicariously through others' fishing success, asking if anyone is getting fish so you can decide its time to hit the hot spot is...kinda like how the sea lions do it (!)

I'm new to this so Im not the best at knowing what time to go, I went a couple times and was skunked and apparently the salmon weren't even in rivers yet. so for me it's easier to ask then spend days without fish. I've heard people catching springers on multhnomah channel or something like that but I am a bank fisherman and only know one place to fish for salmon/steelhead and it's at meldrum bar. And for Mc iver I'm going trout fishing and just wanted to know maybe I can hook some springers.

P
pinstriper
Meldrum may be the least enjoyable place for fishing from the bank. Plenty of bank spots on the Clack. Pick a park and just go plunk. Carver. Barton. You can't fish below the dam for trout for a few more weeks, but if its trout your after fish Estacada lake.

Don't worry about not getting fish. I'm new, and I don't get a lotta fish either. If I wanted to get a fish, I'd go to Costco. I don't need to catch a fish for a day's fishing to be successful. Coming home with a fish is a bonus.

F
Fishpdx
pinstriper said: