Fishing in the rain?

maxwyatt
maxwyatt
Total newb question here. After fishing low and clear water the last two outings, I'm looking forward to the prospect of the river levels rising a bit. Flows are pretty high right now, but it looks like the Alsea may be down to a good level by Friday. However, the forecast is still for 80% chance of rain that day. Does the rain have much effect on how willing the fish are to take a lure? How does it effect the choice of jigs/lures? Thanks for helping a new steelheader out.

C_Run
C_Run
You're right. The predicted levels look fine by Friday if that pans out. I can't comment on the choice of lures . I like fishing in the rain because there are usually less people and you wouldn't need to be as stealthy as you were during the low and clear days you fished lately. So don you rain gear and keep your line in the water and let us know how it went.

Reactions: maxwyatt and markasd
M
markasd
Get the goods on raingear and fish on!

maxwyatt
maxwyatt
I'll let you all know how things go on Friday. BTW, how quickly do the fish usually move up the river once the level starts dropping? I'm trying to gauge how far down stream I should start fishing. I'm coming from the valley so generally I start at Clemens and work my way down, but could just as easily start farther downstream. Thanks in advance for any info.

hobster
hobster
With my experiences fish bite great in the rain, as long as the river level is not on the rise. I think they feel more secure, rain breaks up the water surface and provides a sort of screen. Fishing should turn on big time this weekend, I imagine the Alsea will be a madhouse on Friday! Get there early or for the afternoon bite when a lot of people have left already.