Boat problems

plumbertom
plumbertom
I have a problem with the drain in my aluminum boat.
The tube has been crushed on the outside where it looks as if it was once either dropped off a trailer or dragged over something.
The tube from inside the boat has gotten crushed by the battery when it shifted.
I used a tubing tool (I'm a old plumber) to re shape the tube so the plug would fit but it seems like the weld has cracked where it was welded to the hull.
I need someone in the Eugene area that could repair the weld and maybe replace the tube.
I am gonna try and find a replacement tube and I'll do all the cleaning to get the area ready to apply the weld.
I have to minimize the cost as much as possible, being on SS. Not much money to pay for the things I need.

Irishrover
Irishrover
Hope you can find someone down there. I'm sure you don't want that to fail while you are on the water!

plumbertom
plumbertom
Well the transom tube was easy enough to find. Less than $10 from Amazon.
Now I just need a skilled welder locally.

G
Gulfstream
craigslist

F
fish4life
They have aluminum brazing rods at hardware stores, all you need is a hand held propane torch. I have never done it but seen videos of it done and looks like it is pretty easy.

Bake
Bake
Any Trade Schools?

plumbertom
plumbertom
fish4life said:
They have aluminum brazing rods at hardware stores, all you need is a hand held propane torch. I have never done it but seen videos of it done and looks like it is pretty easy.
Yeah. I have some of those and they ain't exactly as advertised.
It's not as if I haven't the skills to use the rods as I happen to be a retired master Plumber that has done many a brazing jub and even wiped joints with lead. But different thickness of aluminum makes getting the heat right for both the metal to be brazed and the rod next to impossible. You'll almost alway end up burning away the thinnest of the aluminum without getting the thicker hot enough to make your rod run.