Winter swinging is so easy...who knew?

C
ChezJfrey
LOL

Picked this up this afternoon.

IMAG0046.jpg

P
playhooky
Nice!! That is soooo prettteeee. Really give'n that marabou the eye.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

O
OnTheDrop
Pimpin'.. It's official. I'm buying my first switch rod this weekend.. 11' 7wt... See you soon Chezzy

J
Jordy
I haven't ever witnessed a fish caught on a fly rod east of the D. That doesn't mean it doesn't happen but I fish a lot and gear guys smoke the flu guys in the valley.

Killer fish though!

J
JonT
Nice fish, Jeffrey. Get it in that run we fished?

C
ChezJfrey
JonT said:
Nice fish, Jeffrey. Get it in that run we fished?

Almost exactly where you briefly hooked up :)

Aervax
Aervax
I am with you on that one Jordy. I own 12 fly rods. I have been tying my own flies for 36 years. Flyfishing is great fun, but I like the "catching" part of fishing more than the fishing part of it. I actually catch many of my fish on flies, but not on fly rods, haha.

Globugs are flies. Look awful similar to puff balls to me. Which came first, the bucktail jig or the bucktail streamer? The answer is, "It doesn't matter, because the bucktail jig catches more fish per cast than the bucktail streamer. So chuck the streamer and fish the jig."

Streamers are still just a hook and some hair and some feathers and a bit of lead. I cannot bringg myself to throw one and pretend it is a fly. I see it as a light jig fished on a heavy line, rather than the heavy jig fished on a light line that is defined as non-fly gear in the regulations. Not really fair of the Oregon DFW to create exclusive waters for fly only, unless the gear requirements really are going to be flies fished with flyrods.