Surf fishing for stripers

M
mattman32
Hi guys, this is my first time on here. Seems like a great forum. A lot of information here.
Ok so here is the deal. I recently moved to Florence and have been hitting the surf pretty hard for perch. I have been having a blast with that. However I keep hearing that once in a blue moon a perch fisher hooks a striped once in a while. I know they are few and far between although I feel they are out there to be caught. I know you can catch them in the rivers but I would love to catch one in the surf.
I have researched the topic quite a bit. It seems that if there are stripers in the surf that no one is talking about it. I would love to hear from any of you who would know a little more about this. And if there are a few out there is there an area you could point me too. Thanks a million guys

E
eugene1
There is no surf fishery for striped bass in Oregon.

There is no surf fishery for striped bass in Oregon.

According to this article, Kind of old, but an interesting read.

"Oregon

Oregon regulations have limited anglers to
three striped bass per day longer than 16 inches
(40.6 cm) since 1978. Initial restrictions on the
fishery occurred in 1947when a I5-bass per day
bag limit was established. At that time there was
no minimum length restriction. The daily bag
limit was reduced to five fish in 1950, but the
minimum legal length of 16 inches (40.6 cm)
was not set until 1960.

From the 1940s to the 19608the fishery was
primarily in the Coos Bay area; however, in the
1970s major emphasis shifted to the Umpqua
River. The fishery is primarily in tidewater,
although a drift boat fishery existed above
tidewater in the Umpqua in the mid-1970s.
There is no surf fishery for striped bass in
Oregon.

Basic fishing techniques are similar to those in
California. Bait fishing with cut fish, live
sculpins, and shrimp occurs from shore and
anchored boats. Plugs, jigs, and rigged fish are
used by trollers. Anglers also have developed