Help with bass fishing!?

W
WillamiteNewbie
i'm a beginner and i feel like i got the trout thing down, pretty basic. but my friend took me bass fishing yesterday he caught 3 smallies. We used spinners and a few cranks. but the cranks i think that i have aren't good for oregon waters? idk i don't really know anything about bass fishing just know it's still early in the season. i'm in the Willamette area and just want to know what is working for you guys. top water if that works? certain cranks? spinners? whatever it is give me your knowledge. i saw my buddy catch these and i'm addicted like i think bass fishing is going to be my number one favorite species to fish haha.

L
Lowell Life Fisherman
yamasenkos by gary yamamoto, they are plastic worms. try them they work wonders for both small and large mouth. try them wacky rigged whick means just hooked straight one time right in the middle and when it gets to the bottom just twitch it and watch your line for extra movements and twitches. then set the hook

T
tomriker
try 3/8 oz jigs!

but i may be bias towards jigs...

T
tomriker
also... Funny how everyone says to use senko's. That only works if you throw them right in front of their faces. Chances are a lot less in catching them if you don't know where their at

T
Throbbit _Shane
Use senko type of worms. Lots of different brands are out there besides the gary yamaotos. I personally like the Yum Dingers. If there is a lot of weeds and woody stuff use the texas style of hooking the worm so u dont snag the weeds and wood. I prefer wacky style but a lot of time its hard pull off with weeds and stuff. I believe you'll catch more bass using plastic worms especially when first starting out. Good luck out there and tight lines!

L
Lowell Life Fisherman