Would you keep?

J

Johnny Southpaw

Caught this buck on the Alsea two weeks ago; after a hell of a fight I let it go only to have a couple people see the pictures and mention they would of kept it. It looked a little past good-meat stage to me but I'm still fairly new to steelheading so I wanted to see what any OFF members thought.

Last edited by a moderator:
G

GraphiteZen

I prefer smoked fish over cooked. By a long shot, so my rule is if it isn't sored up and I'm there to retain a fish or two, BONK! A super chrome fish might make it to the stove, but not usually. :D

L

luv2fish

People have different choices and opinions and i believe thats why we all are so unique. I personally won't keep it and will let it go.

M

mikeredding

People have different choices and opinions and i believe thats why we all are so unique. I personally won't keep it and will let it go.

I agree. Everyone has different opinions and standards. As for if it were me, I've been known to throw a dark one in the smoker here and there!!:D
Dark or not it is a nice fish. Congrats!:clap:

G

GreenDrifter

Last Friday I let on go that's whole tail was almost rotten. I will go ahead and let the hatchery have one. On the other hand my buddy got one and I gave him hell for keeping but it cut bright red...

H

Hawk

Beautiful Fish Bro.............................he looks like he should be Free to me.................................:D:D:D...........................:cool::cool::cool:.........................:clap::clap::clap:

Troutski

Troutski

Please release me......

Please release me......

I would have released it, like was said above "a beautiful fish". I have to admit I have eaten a few Steelhead over the years and the meat is quite good, but I think I have harvested my last Steelhead.. On that note, when you purchase your license you also get the right to harvest any legal fish you catch, so the answer is; and should always be, its up to the angler period.. Very nice fish:clap:

Chuck

K