What's working on the salmon river?

B

Brian Dupree

Hey everyone.
Just a question, I am new to salmon fishing, me and a couple of buddies are going down Wed. 10/08/08 to the Salmon River Hwy 101. And was wondering what was working as far as bait goes, or even a good hole. Any info would be a great help. Need to bring one home, to prove to the Wife that fishing is not a waste of time and money..lol Thanks everyone.

Last edited by a moderator:
Raincatcher

Raincatcher

Less than 50 feet from the Santiam River! :)
Highway 101 hole

Highway 101 hole

Hey everyone.
Just a question, I am new to salmon fishing, me and a couple of buddies are going down Wed. 10/08/08 to the Salmon River Hwy 101. And was wondering what was working as far as bait goes, or even a good hole. Any info would be a great help. Need to bring one home, to prove to the Wife that fishing is not a waste of time and money..lol Thanks everyone.

Brian;
Good to hear from you and to hear you're going after "the big ones". I went by the popular Highway 101 hole last Sunday and counted 28 people with poles in hand. I heard there were more than a dozen brought in using big spinners. One gent said to use the biggest ones you have. I didn't even try to go down because it was literally clogged with fisherfolk,small children,barking dogs and lawn chairs up the wazoo. Going on a Wednsday is probably the best idea, it shouldn't be crowded at all. But I think I would still get there early. It is a little bridge that crosses hwy 101,it does have a sign but you have to have a pretty good idea where it's at. I know the little town of Otis is popular too, but have no idea where to fish at there. Good luck and don't forget about us when you get back.:D
Barb

A

ArcticAmoeba