Tough day in Salem

Ryno11

Tough day on the Willy today. Fished under the bridges and the slough by the globe. Not even a bite. Fairly new to bass fishing, any suggestions on where the smallies may be moving to?

JMac

I've gotten skunked on my last couple of Willamette trips as well.
I fished above the falls around Rock Island a couple of weekends ago and didn't get so much as a nibble either. Had to contend with a fair amount of current and some strong winds too. I threw everything at em but the kitchen sink.... crank baits, ned rig, lipless cranks, drop shot worms and shad.
Like you, I'm new to fishing for smallmouth in the PNW and have much to learn.
Hopefully someone here will have some tips as I'd really like to figure out how to pick off a few smallies here and there in the fall and winter.

fromthelogo

Generally, the reason I fish for warm water fish is that you fish when it is warm so I don’t go out much late Fall. My son is coming into town this weekend and wants to go out Sunday. We generally fish the Willamette from downtown Portland to Lake O. I’ll let you know how we do. Looks like the water temp is down to about 45 so I think we’ll fish slow with Ned rigs and jigs.

Ryno11

Generally, the reason I fish for warm water fish is that you fish when it is warm so I don’t go out much late Fall. My son is coming into town this weekend and wants to go out Sunday. We generally fish the Willamette from downtown Portland to Lake O. I’ll let you know how we do. Looks like the water temp is down to about 45 so I think we’ll fish slow with Ned rigs and jigs.
I’d love to hear how you do! Good luck and tight lines.

bass

Most Featured
Good luck @fromthelogo !