Totally inept

P
pinstriper
OK, so fair disclosure. My wife has decided I should take up fishing as a hobby. Apparently she thinks I need more time away from my chair/the computer/her/the golf course. And/or she just wants the fish, and wants me to do all the hard work.

I'm ok with it, as it is just an excuse to spend more quality time at Cabela's.

But here's the thing. The only fish I ever caught was on a guided sturgeon outing with some guys from the golf course. The guide hooked the fish and handed up the poles.

So I have no idea what I'm doing, other than what I've read.

I went out to the Wilson last week for steelhead. Sidled up to a fellow on the bank and said "hey there, Sport, I hope you don't mind me watching you and studying a bit, since I've never done this before." He replied "neither have I, and since I hate football this was as good a day as any to come out".

My fishing ambitions is pretty much bank fishing, as the last thing I need is a boat. Steelhead and Salmon, yum. I am also down with chasing trout or bass or other edible panfish here and there. I also fantasize about catching...I dunno what...off the jetty in Newport.

I am fully willing to pay a guide for the education. Any fish caught would be to their credit, not mine. Bonus.

I did run across another fellow who seemed to know what he was doing, and he looked at my sliding float and jig rigging, blessed it as legit. He said my casts were fine, and that getting some backlash 2 out of 5 casts was not bad at all for me. So I felt good about that.

I am not at the point where I have any expectations of getting a fish, so I don't view a fishless outing as a failure. Yet, I guess. At some point I'll feel like I should be getting fish.

So. All the above having been said. Here is the question: