Spinnerbaits

C
cdat
What size hooks/spinnerbaits do most folks use in Oregon/Wash? I'm new at bass fishing, most of the articles I read are talking more about bass fishing down south or in the midwest. The articles talk about 3/4 oz spinnerbaits with 5/0 or 4/0 hooks on them. Seem kind of large for this area, any thoughts or advice would be appreciated.

Thanks
John

EOBOY
EOBOY
cdat said:
What size hooks/spinnerbaits do most folks use in Oregon/Wash? I'm new at bass fishing, most of the articles I read are talking more about bass fishing down south or in the midwest. The articles talk about 3/4 oz spinnerbaits with 5/0 or 4/0 hooks on them. Seem kind of large for this area, any thoughts or advice would be appreciated.

Thanks
John

A Bass is a Bass! They don't know if they are in Oregon or Florida. They don't care. Hook size and spinner baits sound about right. You should see some of the BIG Bass Baits The Fishwhisperer use's.

B
BaldTexan
We always used big lures in the south for bass. Kept the smaller species like sand bass and hybrids off. Smaller spinnerbaits are just as effective but I don't recall going much smaller than a 3/0 hook.

F
Fishpdx
I use crappie spinnerbaits for smallies.

bass
bass
On the Willamette my favorites were a 1/4oz or 3/8oz white spinnerbait with tandem gold willowleaf blades. I like crawling that thing down rock ledges.

On the snaggy, lure-eating Tualatin I use a safety pin harness with a 1/8oz jighead and a Kalin salty grub. Lure cost is well under a buck. If I lose a couple during the course of the day I don't cry myself to sleep that night :)

C
cdat
Appreciate the info, just wondering as it seems most people recommended going with smaller plastic worms and hooks than are normally used down south. Will fish on with what I have.
Thanks
John

B
Berg03
Ya, a bass will hit something near the same size of it... I use large plastics that sometimes i catch 5 inch bass on a 10 inch plastic worm.... when they want it they will eat it!