Seeking multi-day backpacking/fishing trip location

G
Gentleman Angler
Greetings friends :thumb: I'm new to this gorgeous state and am a full-time graduate student. This will be the 8th year I've lead a multi-day backpacking trip with a few friends…and this year we're going to explore Oregon a bit in the end of June.

Problem is…I have no idea where to take these guys. We've been all over Utah, spent some time in Idaho, and Wyoming. Our trip will be 4-5 days duration and we are all capable of covering ground. We prefer to be away from the crowds if possible but require an area where we can camp and have fires.

The icing on every trip is being able to get on some trout water. A couple of us are fly anglers, but all of us enjoy spin fishing. I've read up a little on the internet and in a few books, but can't seem to get my bearings on where a good location would be to get us on a trail and put us near some flowing water and/or some lakes. Fish don't need to be big and I'm not asking for a handout…just locations where we may have a chance at hooking up. We don't plan to hike in any tubes or pontoons at this point so the location would require decent shore access.

From reading the posts here, it sounds like you guys might be able to help me out and point me in the right direction. I'd prefer insight from people who have actually spent time in the areas they recommend vs stuff heard or learned second or third-hand if I can be so picky :sad: but I'll take anything I can get. I'm desperate and value any and all input and thank you guys in advance for the help.

Cheers, GA

B
Big3d
Perhaps the Bull of the woods wilderness may be up your alley, lots of small secluded lakes, killer views. I'm inno shape for some of those hikes myself, but if I ever am it's on my list. Oregon is full of beautiful places. People will chime in. Welcome, enjoy!

G
Gentleman Angler