Rod build

R

ryan808

I got commissioned to build a rod for a fellow OFFer and I wanted to share with you guys and gals. I am by no means a professional builder and wont pretend to be one, I just want to share a little bit of what I do when I can't fish....

Our fellow OFFer wanted a Jig/Wormin stick, so I choose what I think is one of the top three blanks out there, none other than a MH SCV St Croix blank. To make this stick as light as possible I decided to do a split seat and a set of Fuji micro guides. I'll custom a split grip and go bare on the bling.

Here is pre build:

F

Fish-N-Fool

Cool hope you show it off when you get-er-done. I used too make rods myself when I was a whole lot younger, Still have a 8 1/2 ft spinning rod I made for steelheadin on the Sky and Snohomish rivers back in the 70's now days I dont see well enough up close to do that kinda stuff and I hate to wear my old man glasses. lol

A

Amberjack

Rod building can be addicting. Best advice I can give is too buy a power wrapper. Makes building it a lot easier, especially on the finishing of the wraps.

R

ryan808

I tried the power wrapper, but feel more control with the hand wrapper. I do though use a powered drier when doing the finishes.

Chromatose

Chromatose

I am with you Ryan on hand wrapping. Not that a power wrapper is a bad thing. Just is not for me. Addictive is a understatement Amberjack........................:lol:

C

colbypearson

I tried the power wrapper, but feel more control with the hand wrapper. I do though use a powered drier when doing the finishes.

dang dude always something i have been interested in i see the handle assortment looks good i like that exposed seat your thinking of as well, would you make one for another person someday haha?

R

ryan808